Plans,reflections, visions and seeing the future…with beer.

So here I am, the proud owner of a shiny new beer blog! I have to say this thing has given me more enjoyment in the short period of time that I have been posting than any other writing venture has. I also have attracted some page views which is always nice! The question is though; what’s the plan? Well lets boil it all down like the mash that it is and see what we have here.

CONTENT

I want this site to be about not only interesting beers that I come across and sample, but about every facet of beer production and consumption. As you have seen in my Broad Brook Brewing Company post I am interested in going to breweries and taking tours. More than that I am looking forward to the day when I can say ‘hi, I am The Bottle Muse and I would like to ask you a few questions for my site’. That will be a bit down the road though.

I am very interested in beginning to talk to the distributors and dealers who sell and stock these products we love so much. You know that one store you know of that has a great beer sampling at a decent price but doesn’t tout themselves as a big time beer shop? I want to talk to those guys, cause I love them. They are the unsung heroes who get me the suds I love.

How could I neglect the numerous beer bars that keep their thirsty patrons dowsed in the best beers they can find too! You can expect a write up on them too.

Lastly but not leastly (which is a word starting….now) I want to touch base on social issues surrounding craft beer and beer culture. We’re talking trials and tribulations of the craft beer market and the various laws and how they change as well as local and national issues as they come up.

STYLE & HOSTING

I am currently taking the cheap route with the site, and by cheap I mean free. This means a free WordPress domain and a free WordPress theme. No slight to the quality of these, but in the future I definitely want to have more avenue for customization and creativity with the site. There are a number of widgets out there that I want to utilize on this site, like the untappd widget which will allow me to give a listing of the beers I have drank and rated. Right now since I am on freemium here I can only customize so much, so in the future I will upgrade to Premium where I can do more. I also will be buying out the domain to remove the WordPress name from it.

It will probably take a lot of work and a lot of cursing at code until it does what I want, but the product will be worth it. I want the site to be equal parts professional and fun.

OH AND ALSO

I want to get active on Twitter once I have a better working phone. There are a lot of great folks out there in the twitterverse and it would be awesome to make contact with them on that platform.

COMING SOON

Currently have half a review written for Rosabi from Dogfish Head and was gifted a 4 pack of Dragon’s Milk from New Holland Brewing Company. Also Julius and That’s What She Said from Tree House Brewing Company.

Planned visits to Thimble Island Brewing Company and DuVig Brewing Company in southern CT for early March when this god forsaken snow hopefully calms down. So be on the look out for reviews and write ups on those.

LASTLY

I want to keep talking to other beer bloggers and bounce ideas off of them. A lot of you guys have great content and I am totally the new kid on the block here, so if you have any suggestions I am all ears!

20131029_133130

Leave a Reply

